The Town of Ocean City is holding the municipal election in conjunction with federal and state elections on Tuesday, November 8, 2022, from 7:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. Registered Ocean City voters are able to vote in all elections at the Roland E. Powell Convention Center, 4001 Coastal Highway. The elections will be conducted independently. Voters must sign in at both the municipal and the federal/state registration desks that day.

The mayoral seat and three council seats are up for election this year to include the seats of current Council Members Matt James, Lloyd Martin and Mark Paddack. Candidates that have filed for Council thus far: Matt James, Carol Proctor, William Savage III.

Your vote is important. If you have not already done so, please register to vote by Tuesday, October 18. Visit http://www.elections.state.md.us/voter_registration/application.html to download and submit a Maryland Voter Registration Application.

2022 Municipal Election Schedule

Tuesday, October 4, 2022

Incumbent's resignation due if seeking mayoral seat

Tuesday, October 11, 2022

Candidate Filing Deadline

Tuesday, October 18, 2022

Universal Registration deadline as set by Maryland State Board of Elections. Universal registration allows the voter to vote in national, state, county and Ocean City elections.

Monday, October 31, 2022

Interim Campaign Expenditure Report Due

Monday, November 7, 2022

Absentee Ballot Request Deadline

Tuesday, November 8, 2022

Election Day

Thursday, November 10, 2022

Organizational Meeting @7:30 p.m.

Monday, November 21, 2022

Final Campaign Expenditure Report Due


The Universal Registration deadline as set by Maryland State Board of Elections is Tuesday, October 18, 2022.

Download the voter registration application at http://elections.maryland.gov/voter_registration/application.html.

Voter registration applications are available in all libraries, post offices, Motor Vehicle Departments, schools, state offices and at various other locations in Ocean City, including City Hall, Northside Park, the Public Safety Building and the Roland E. Powell Convention Center.

Mail the completed application to the Worcester County Election Board using the address provided on the application. You are considered a voter when you receive your Voter Notification Card from your local board of elections. For additional details, Ocean City residents should contact the Worcester County Election Board at (410) 632-1320.

The form can be used to change your name and address. The Worcester County Election Board must have a signed form before they can make any changes to your registration.


An Absentee Ballot Application must be received by the Board of Supervisors of Elections of Ocean City, c/o the Office of the City Clerk, 301 N. Baltimore Avenue, Ocean City, Maryland, 21842, no later than 5:00 p.m. on November 7, 2022. Please allow ample time for mailing the application, receiving the ballot and returning the ballot which must be returned to the Board of Supervisors of Elections (City Clerk’s Office) no later than 5:00 p.m. on Monday, November 7, 2022. Ballots will be mailed shortly after the October 11, 2022, candidate filing deadline.


The Mayoral seat and three (3) seats on the Ocean City Council are up for the 2022 municipal election. Those interested in running for an elected official position are required to:
  • File a Certificate of Candidacy in person at the Office of the City Clerk by Tuesday, October 11, 2022. Written statement must be accompanied by a filing fee in the amount of $25.00.
  • A completed Financial Disclosure Statement must be submitted with the Certificate of Candidacy.


The newly elected Mayor, together with the newly elected Council members and the incumbent Council members shall meet at 7:30 p.m. on the Thursday in November immediately following the election, for the purpose of organization. At said organizational meeting, the Council members shall elect one (1) of their members as President, who shall serve at the pleasure of the Council and shall preside at meetings of the Mayor and City Council. The Mayor and Council shall appoint one (1) member of the Council to serve as Secretary.

Please contact the City Clerk’s Office, Room 220, City Hall, 410-289-8842 for more information.

2020 Election Results

Mayor Candidates

Vote Total

Rick Meehan


Council Candidates

Vote Total

Peter S. Buas


Tony DeLuca


Nicholas Eastman


John Gehrig Jr.


Daniel Hagan


Frank Knight


2018 Election Results

Mayor Candidates

Vote Total

Joe T. Hall


Rick Meehan


Council Candidates

Vote Total

Matthew James


Lloyd Martin


Emily Nock


Mark L. Paddack


Christopher M. Rudolf